To become a group fitness instructor, you finish high school (or the equivalent), get CPR/AED certified, pass a group fitness certification exam, and then audition or apply at a gym or studio. Some certifications take as little as 4 to 6 weeks of study. AFAA shows a $12 monthly payment without stating the total, while ACSM lists exam fees of $310 for members and $410 for non-members. Pay is modest: the U.S. median for this occupation was $47,160 a year in 2025.
What do you need to be a group fitness instructor?
The U.S. Department of Labor’s CareerOneStop profile says people starting in this career usually have a high school diploma or equivalent, no work experience, and less than a month of on-the-job training. It adds that these are typical, not required. In practice, the requirements come from certifying bodies and employers:
- Education: A high school diploma or GED is listed by AFAA (a division of NASM), ACE and ACSM. AFAA says no prior fitness certification or college degree is needed to begin.
- Age: ACE’s accredited exam and ACSM both require you to be 18 or older. ACE’s non-accredited certificate exam allows 16 and up.
- CPR and AED: All three require current CPR/AED certification. ACE requires a live skills check. AFAA lets you enroll first but you need it before you sit the exam. ACSM says first aid certification is also required starting in 2027.
- Photo ID: ACE requires a government-issued photo ID for its accredited exam.
The skills matter too. The Labor Department’s O*NET profile lists instructing, speaking, active listening and service orientation as core skills. It lists stamina, flexibility, body coordination and trunk strength as key abilities. The job involves planning routines, choosing music and movements, offering alternatives for different fitness levels, observing participants and correcting form, and explaining safety rules.
What is the step-by-step path?
- Get CPR/AED certified. You need it before any of the exams below. Ask the provider whether it includes the live skills check ACE requires.
- Pick the format you want to teach. A general certification covers class design and leadership for many formats. A brand program such as Les Mills trains you in that company’s classes only.
- Choose a certification and study. Compare options in the table below.
- Pass the exam. Most can be taken in person or online with a proctor.
- Audition and apply. Many gyms and campus programs use auditions. Passing an exam does not guarantee a job.
- Keep the credential current. AFAA’s must be renewed every two years with 1.5 CEUs and current CPR/AED.
Which group fitness certification is best?
No source ranks them, and the best one depends on where you want to work. One feature does stand out. NASM and ACE both describe their main exams as accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), a third-party body that accredits certification programs. NASM says gyms and employers recognize it as the industry standard. Northeastern University’s recreation department says its instructors must pass an NCCA-accredited exam once hired. Before you pay for anything, ask the gym or studio where you want to teach which credentials it accepts. You can find more fitness career guides on PHFR.com.
| Option | To be eligible | Exam | Study time | Price shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFAA-CGFI (NCCA-accredited) | High school diploma or GED; CPR/AED before the exam | 120 questions, closed book, 2 hours, scaled score of 70; in person or online with a proctor | AFAA says many finish in 4 to 6 weeks while working full time; take the exam within 180 days of enrolling | $12 a month, shown as reduced from $15; the total is not stated |
| ACE Group Fitness Instructor (NCCA-accredited) | 18+, high school or equivalent, CPR/AED with live skills check, photo ID | 150 questions, score of 500 or higher; in person or online with a live remote proctor | ACE says its self-paced study program takes most people 3 to 6 months; study material is not required | Not listed on the page |
| ACE Group Fitness Instruction Certificate (not accredited) | 16+, CPR/AED with live skills check | 100 questions, open book, online, 70% to pass, unlimited attempts | Same study program | Not listed on the page |
| ACSM Group Exercise Instructor | 18+, high school or equivalent, adult CPR/AED; first aid from 2027 | Pearson test center or online | Self-directed; ACSM names an official prep book and practice-question platform but says they are not required | Appears to be $410 non-member, $310 member; retest $205; includes a $50 non-refundable application fee |
| Les Mills Instructor (brand program) | Sign up for an online or in-person training | Complete pre-work and training, then submit a teaching video for assessment | Not stated | Not listed on the page |
Prices as of October 5, 2026; check each certifier’s checkout for today’s. The ACSM page layout is a little ambiguous, so confirm the member and non-member amounts before you register. Also ask what CPR/AED training costs where you live, since none of these pages price it.
How long does it take to get certified?
The study portion ranges from a few weeks to a few months, depending on the program and how much time you give it. AFAA says many people finish in 4 to 6 weeks, and ACE says most take 3 to 6 months. Allow time for CPR/AED training too. If you go through a campus program, the schedule is fixed. Northeastern’s training runs 15 weeks, meeting weekly, and UIC’s prep course runs 8 weeks.
How much does it cost?
The prices that are published range as follows:
- AFAA-CGFI: $12 a month is shown, with no total stated.
- ACSM: $410 for non-members and, it appears, $310 for members, plus $205 if you need a retest.
- UIC’s 8-week prep course: $75 for students, $100 for members, $125 for non-students. You also have to buy the ACE group fitness book, and the course does not certify you. You register separately for the ACE exam.
- Northeastern’s in-house training is free, but it is open to its own students and part of the hiring process.
- ACE and Les Mills: prices are not listed on the pages above, so check them at checkout.
Can you teach group fitness without a certification?
The CareerOneStop profile says some states require an occupational license for this career, and it has a license finder for your state. Beyond that, the sources point to employers setting the rules. CareerOneStop’s career video says certification in first aid and in a field such as personal training, weight training or aerobics may be required. Northeastern requires an NCCA-accredited exam after hire. Ask the specific gym or studio, and check your state’s license finder, before you assume you can start without a credential.
Is 40 too old to become a fitness instructor?
The sources list minimum ages only: 18 for ACE’s accredited exam and ACSM, 16 for ACE’s certificate. None names an upper limit. What matters more is the physical side of the job. O*NET reports that half of instructors surveyed stand continually or almost continually, and it lists stamina, flexibility and coordination as key abilities. The Labor Department also says many instructors work part-time, which can make this a workable second career. If you have health concerns, MedlinePlus advises checking with your health care provider before you start exercising, especially if you have trouble moving or balancing.
Are fitness instructors in demand?
Yes, by the government’s projections. O*NET marks Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors as a “Bright Outlook” occupation, with growth projected as much faster than average. CareerOneStop gives the numbers: 370,100 jobs in 2024, a projected 414,200 in 2034, a 12% increase. Both pages cite about 74,200 projected job openings from growth and replacement. O*NET labels that figure for 2024 to 2034 and CareerOneStop calls it annual, so treat it as approximate. Competition is real, though: 43% of surveyed workers described their level of competition as highly competitive.
How much does a fitness instructor make?
The Labor Department combines group fitness instructors and personal trainers in one occupation. These are Bureau of Labor Statistics figures from May 2025, shown on CareerOneStop:
| Percentile | Hourly | Annual |
|---|---|---|
| 10th | $13.85 | $28,800 |
| 25th | $16.96 | $35,280 |
| Median | $22.67 | $47,160 |
| 75th | $29.68 | $61,730 |
| 90th | $39.95 | $83,100 |
CareerOneStop notes that you can assume you might earn close to the 10th or 25th percentile when you start out. These are national figures, and they do not show pay per class. Ask any employer how it pays: per class, hourly, or by salary.
Can you make a living, or $100K, as a trainer?
The data do not split group instructors from personal trainers, so there is no separate figure for either. For the combined group, the 90th percentile is $83,100, which means $100,000 is above what roughly nine in ten earn. Part-time work is common, so a full living usually depends on stacking classes, adding private clients, or moving into management. O*NET’s task list includes selling memberships and developing individualized programs, which hints at where extra income can come from.
What type of fitness instructor makes the most?
The sources do not rank group formats such as yoga, cycling or HIIT by pay. They do show that nearby careers with more education pay more. O*NET reports median wages (2025) of $59,460 for exercise physiologists, $62,520 for athletic trainers and $64,070 for health education specialists. Those jobs typically need more schooling than a group fitness certification. O*NET’s education data show 50% of exercise physiologists reporting a bachelor’s degree required, 42% a master’s, and 54% of athletic trainers a master’s. They are different careers, not upgrades to the same job.
What is the work like, and where are the jobs?
CareerOneStop describes instructors leading classes at health clubs, exercise studios and other facilities. O*NET lists the top industries as arts, entertainment and recreation, and other services. All surveyed workers said they work indoors every day. 86% reported constant contact with others, 52% said they speak publicly every day, and 52% said they are exposed to distracting or uncomfortable noise every day. You can browse openings through the job-search links on the O*NET page and CareerOneStop. ACE also advertises a job board for its certified pros.
The work supports public health goals. The CDC says adults need at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week plus two days of muscle-strengthening activity. Classes are one way people get there.
How do you find training near you, in person?
Three places to start:
- Campus and gym programs. Northeastern and UIC both run instructor courses. Check whether your local university rec center or gym does something similar.
- Brand trainings. Les Mills says it offers both in-person and online options.
- Exam sites. AFAA’s exam can be taken in person at a testing center, ACE offers in-person proctored exams, and ACSM uses Pearson testing centers.
For other routes, the CareerOneStop profile lists related college programs, including physical fitness technician and yoga teacher training. O*NET also lists a registered apprenticeship title, Master Fitness Trainer, with a link to Apprenticeship.gov.
What about Reddit and peer advice?
Peer advice can show you what local studios want. ACSM links to an official Facebook study group for its exam candidates, where others share how they passed. Treat what you read as personal experience, and check it against the certifier’s requirements.
Before you commit
- Ask the gym or studio where you want to teach which certifications it accepts and whether it requires an NCCA-accredited exam.
- Find the total price of your certification, including the exam, study materials and CPR/AED, since several pages list only part of it.
- Check your state’s license finder on CareerOneStop.
- Confirm how the employer pays and how many classes are realistically available.
- If you have a health condition or injury, a clinician is the right person to say what physical demands are safe for you.
For more career and certification guidance, browse PHFR’s health and fitness resources.
By PHFR.com Health & Fitness Team